Guest Lectures


Event Topic Open Mic Competition
Category Others
Date & Day 16th November, 2021

Institute of Management Studies, Ghaziabad

(University Courses Campus)


REPORT OF Open Mic competition


National Press Day

Event Name: Open Mic Competition

Date & Day: 16th  November 2021

Guest Speaker: NA

Designation/Organization: IMS Ghaziabad , University Courses Campus

Topic: Open Mic Competition

Event Timing: 11.00 AM

Number of participants: 55

Venue: Mini Auditorium

Summary of the Event:  

National Press Day is celebrated every year on November 16. The day marks the presence of an independent and responsible press in India. The day is aimed at highlighting the importance of an independent press in a democracy. The media is known as the fourth pillar of democracy. It is said that journalists are a mirror of society,which brings out the truth even in adverse circumstances. This day symbolizes freedom of the press and its responsibilities towards society. The Press Council of India started functioning on this day.

To celebrate National Press Day the School of Journalism and Mass Communication of IMS Ghaziabad University Courses Campus organized an "Open Mic Competition". Students from SJMC department participated and expressed their views on the given topics related to media. The topics were  "Is the Indian Press really free - attacks on the freedom of Press", "Future of India: Role of Media" and "Role of media in nation building"The competition was held in Hindi and English language.Students participated in the event with full of enthusiasm and the winners were Mr. Shravan Kumar (First prize), Ms. Kriti ( Second prize ),Mr. Sunny Rathi ( Third Prize ) And also with one runner-up  Ms. Shreya.

Learning Outcome:

The competition was interactive and through this the students came to know new things related to press.The session was interesting, informative and through this the students came to know different uses of press.


Submitted By:                                                                        Submitted To:

Chairperson                                                                                     Director