Admissions are closed for BBA/BCA, Only Few seats left for BJMC and B.Sc. Hons. Microbiology

Guest Lectures


Event Topic Film Festival And Entertainment Thunder - 2018
Date & Day 30th March, 2018


Film Festival And Entertainment Thunder - 2018

"Creativity is intelligence having fun" with this positive note the IMS Ghaziabad University Course Campus organized a film & media festival. The festival brought together students of Journalism and Mass Communication, faculties, and celebrities from film and media communities under the banner of Film Festival And Entertainment Thunder , 2018 on March 29 & 30, 2018.
The festival was a grand success. Huge participation of students, the film industry and the media fulfilled the purpose of organizing the fest that aims to provide a platform to students to showcase their creative talents. It also purports to be an educational platform for young filmmakers who feel motivated in the presence of people from the film industry and other media formats. The event was inaugurated by Mr. Rakesh Chharia - General Secretary, IMS Society), Dr. Sapna Rakesh- Director, IMS UC Campus, Mr. Dinesh Sahoo- Director, FFET 2018, and other distinguished guests from film industry.
The festival opened in the presence of noted film critic Mr. Parag Chhapekar, veteran cinematographer Mr. K. Ram Singh, creative director Ms. Bharti Panwar, actor Mr. Pranay Dixit, actor & model Mr. Nitin Kumar and yoga trainer Ms. Meena Dinesh Sahoo. Ganesh vandana and other culture programmes presented by students marked the inaugural session of the festival. The day was reserved for screening of 15-minute Short films / Documentary films. More than 70 films were received from enthusiastic students of different colleges of Delhi, Haryana, U.P. and other states. As many as 17 shortlisted films were screened before the judges.
In between screening of these films, the judges explained various aspects of film-making for benefit of the budding film makers. In these sessions, the students got to know about the proper usage of Script, Story, Cast, Cinematography and the production process. Director of FFET, Mr. Dinesh sahoo, and all other esteemed guests from the film industry shared their experiences and motivated the students and budding film-makers to achieve their targets. They shared their knowledge on media production techniques, fundamentals of film-making, its process and importance of script, visualization of the story and the editing of the production which converts the raw material into the final product. The speakers elaborated all the three phases of production and told the students about the importance of Script writing, composition, direction of camera, team management, task delegation, creative use of natural light and technical use of artificial light and editing etc.
The final day of the festival opened with welcoming Anaarkali of Aarah fame film director Mr. Avinash Das. Twelve shortlisted very short films of upto five minutes length were screened in two sessions. Apart from screening of these films, parallel competitions in Trick Photography, Digital Poster Making and Script-writing were also held. More than 100 students from different colleges participated in these competitions. The last and grandest session of the festival started in the evening as the Awards night. Nicely decorated campus reflected the vibrancy of the event. The decoration created an environment comparable with film awards ceremonies.
Chief guest of the Event was Mr. Sharang Sharma, Head- Filmed Content Acquisition at Reliance Jio Info Communication Ltd while Miss India Asia Pacific Second Runner-up, Ms. Twinkle Sehgal was the co-chief guest. Guests of Honour on the occasion included Mr. Sanjeev Sharma - actor, Mr. K. Ram Singh - cinematographer, Ms. Bharti Panwar - creative director in TV serials and films, Mr. Pranay Dixit - actor and an IMS alumnus, Mr. Nitin Kumar - model and actor and Ms. Meena Dinesh Sahoo - Celebrity Fitness Trainer. These esteemed guests and the members of the IMS Society managing committee joined hands in giving away awards to ten achievers in different categories of media and film activities.
Veteran Hindi journalist Mr. Jay Shankar Gupta's contribution to the profession was celebrated by giving away Outstanding Journalist Award-2018 to him. Outstanding Digital Journalist Award-2018 was given to Mr. Pankaj Shrivastava, the founding editor of news portal MediaVigil, Outstanding TV Journalist Award-2018 was given to Mr. Arvind Singh, currently Editor at Rajya Sabha TV while Outstanding Photo Journalist Award -2018 went to Mr. Ravi Batra.
Awards in the Films category included Outstanding Film Director Award-2018 to Mr. Avinash Das, Outstanding Film Actor Award-2018 to Mr. Sahil Vaid, Outstanding Voice Over Artist Award-2018 to Mr. O.P Rathore, Outstanding TV Actor Award-2018 to Mr. Saleem Zaidi and Outstanding Male Model Award-2018 to Mr. Dileep Singh. Apart from these industry awards, the winners of different categories of films and competitions held during the festival were also felicitated in the programme. Vijay Kumar & Abdul Rehman of State Institute of Film & TV, Rohtak, received the first prize of Rs. 11,000 in cash for their short film Paaro.
Utkarsh Shukla and Murli Singh of MCRP University (NOIDA campus) were given felicitated with trophy and certificates for their short film First 'The End' adjudged second in the competition. The award for third position in the category went to Rajat Singh, Abhay Singh and Mohd Aaquib of KIET, Ghaziabad for their short film 'The Watch'. In the category Very Short Films, the first prize of Rs. 11,000 went to our students Kajal Goswami, Shivendra Singh and Abhishek Singh for their production 'Mera Man'. Second Prize in the category went to Manas Joshi of ISOMES for 'Main Indian Hun' and third position award went to Shubham Jha and Sanidhya Sood of JIMS, ROHINI for their film ' Road '.
In the Digital Poster-making Competition all three top positions were bagged by our students. First prize of Rs. 5,000 went to Abhishek Kumar Singh and Kshitij Singh Rathore. Tushita Sharma and Abhishek stood second and Tarushi Jindal & Pankaj Kumar Yadav attained third position. In Trick Photography competition, Nishant Singh and Shreyas Agnihotri of IMS University Courses Campus bagged the first prize. Kajal Goswami of this very campus was adjudged second while Somraj and Tanish of the SRM University, NCR campus.
The first prize of Rs. 5,000 cash in the Script Writing competition went to Vijay Kumar of State Institute of Film & TV, Rohtak. Abdul Rehman of the same institute was adjudged the second best while our student Devansh Gill received the trophy and certificate for third position.
Programme hosts for the evening were famous Radio Mirchi RJ Naved and AIR RJ Zareen Naaz. Audience, guests, participants and each one present in the auditorium enjoyed every minute of the programme interlaced with jovial comments and funny story-telling by Naved.